Indiana Council of 
Teachers of Mathematics
Log in

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

September 22, 2016 9:51 PM | Anonymous
The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy recently announced the recipients of the 2014 & 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). We are proud to announce that four of those teachers are from Indiana. The awardees of math are:
  • Martin Briggs, Crichfield Elementary School
  • Michael Spock, Columbus North High School
The awardees for science are:
  • Kristen Poindexter, Spring Mill Elementary School
  • Hugh Ross, Guerin Catholic High School
Our state winners will join other awardees in Washington, D.D. for a series of events in their honor, including professional development opportunities, discussion with policy-makers on how to improve mathematics and science education, and an awards ceremony. In addition, awardees will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

This year's finalists are:
  • Lisa Leliaert, Maxwell Intermediate School, Greenfield-Central Schools - Lisa is transitioning to a Math Coaching position this year.
  • Kim Matsuoka, John Strange Elementary School, MSD Washington Township - Kim is transitioning to a middle school math position.
  • Holly Miller, Sand Creek Elementary, Fishers, Indiana - Holly teaches high ability fifth graders and is active in STEM education.
Learn more about Indiana's awardees and their commendable work by reviewing their bios here The PAEMST program is proud of the impact these teachers are making for both our students and the future of science and mathematics education nationwide. To learn more about the PAEMST program or to nominate a 7-12 Science or Math teacher this fall, please visit
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software