Indiana Council of 
Teachers of Mathematics

2019 State Math Contest Awards Ceremony

On June 28, 2019, Indiana students were recognized for their performance after competing in the Indiana State Math Contest during the ICTM Outstanding Scholars Awards Ceremony. Pictures from the event may be found at: State plaques were awarded to the top 3 finishers (or more in the event of a tie) and medals were awarded to students who finished in the top 5%.  State plaques and medals for students not in attendance will be mailed to the attention of the registering teacher at the school address provided during registration.  Below is a summary:

*         7 students tied for 1st place earning a 38/40
*         7 additional students were awarded medals with a minimum score of 37/40

Algebra I
*         1 student earned 1st place with a PERFECT SCORE of 40/40.
*         1 student earned 2nd place with a 38/40.
*         1 student earned 3rd place with a 36/40
*         7 additional students were awarded medals with a minimum score of 33/40

*         2 students tied for 1st place with a PERFECT SCORE of 32/32
*         3 students tied for 2nd place with a 31/32
*         4 additional students were awarded medals with a minimum score of 30/32

Algebra II
*         2 students tied for 1st place with a 31/32
*         1 student earned 2nd place with a 29/32
*         2 additional students were awarded medals with a minimum score of 25/32

*         1 student earned 1st place with a PERFECT SCORE of 32/32
*         2 students earned 2nd place with a 30/32
*         2 additional students were awarded medals with a minimum score of 29/32

Please mark your calendar for Saturday, April 18th, 2020 for the 2020 ICTM State Math Contest next year!  The 2020 ICTM Outstanding Scholars Awards Ceremony is tentatively set for June 5, 2020 at the Indiana State House in Indianapolis.  The website will be updated in the coming months.

Stay Tuned!


Indiana State Math Contest - 2019

The Indiana Council of Teachers of Mathematics is pleased to inform you that the 2019 Indiana State Mathematics Contest will be held at 9:30 AM (local time) on Saturday, April 13, 2019 at the sites listed below. For more information or to be added to the mailing list, please contact a local site coordinator. We hope you will encourage your students to participate in the 2019 contest.

Click HERE for past state math contest exams and answer keys.


For more information, please contact Leigh Britt


Registration will be open from February 28, 2019 through March 29, 2019. Online registration closes two weeks before the contest day. Please contact your site coordinator for late registrations.

Click HERE to register! Teachers/principals must register students. Parents may not register students.


Categories, Format and Content


There are five mathematics problem-solving tests. Each contains 28 to 40 multiple-choice questions; 90 minutes are allowed for students to work with the test. The categories are: Pre-Algebra, Algebra First Course/Integrated Math I, Geometry/Integrated Math II, Algebra Second Course/Integrated Math III, and Comprehensive. Questions for the first four categories may be related to the content identified in Indiana's academic standards or included in state-approved textbooks. The content of the Comprehensive category is drawn from pre-calculus mathematics including trigonometry, finite mathematics, simple linear algebra, probability, statistics, and analytic geometry.

Calculator Policy

Only a non-programmable calculator may be used during the exam.  Please refer to the following list:


Previous Years' Exams




ICTM is dedicated to supporting Indiana public and private school teachers. ONLY public or private school teachers or principals may register students. Parents may NOT register students. Participation on the part of any interested student is encouraged; there is no limit to the number of participants from any school. A participant may take only one test each year.

· Participants in the Pre-Algebra category are limited to Middle School and Junior High School students who have not yet enrolled in Algebra or an integrated high school mathematics course;

· Students who are enrolled in either an Algebra First Course or Integrated Mathematics first course will register for the Algebra I/Integrated Math I test;

· Students enrolled in Geometry or Integrated Mathematics II will register for the Geometry/Integrated Math II test; and,

· Students enrolled in either Algebra Second Course or Integrated Mathematics III will register for the Algebra II/Integrated Math III test.


Students can participate only one time in each of the Algebra I First Course/Integrated Math I, Geometry/Integrated Math II, or Algebra II/Integrated Math III categories. Students can participate in the Pre-Algebra and Comprehensive categories more than once.


Registration, Certification and Fees


There is a non-refundable $7.00 participant fee for each student. Checks to be made payable to ICTM. Participants must be registered by their current math teacher or school principal (even if the school is not participating in the contest), and the school must certify that the participants are currently enrolled in courses appropriate for the category. No special certification is required for the Comprehensive category.

Please register online and then mail the fees to the appropriate site coordinator where your students plan to attend the contest. CHECKS MUST BE MADE PAYABLE TO ICTM. Your registration is not complete until all fees have been received by the appropriate local site. (Coming Soon on 2/28/19!)                                                  

Host Site Coordinators


LeAnn Neel-Romine        

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Ball State University

Muncie, IN 47306

(765) 285-8649

Leigh Britt
Division of Science
Indiana University Purdue University Columbus
4601 Central Ave.
Columbus, IN 47203

(812) 348-7350 


Rachel Kenney

Department of Mathematics

Purdue University West Lafayette

150 N. University Street

West Lafayette, IN 47907-2067

(765) 494-6053


Walter Dennis Scott

Division of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Whitewater Room 200

Indiana University East

2325 Chester Boulevard

Richmond, IN 47374

(765) 973-8285



Noah Armah and Peng Zhao

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Indiana State University

Terre Haute, IN 47809

Peng Zhao: (812) 237-2648


Jerry DeGroot

Mathematics & Physics Section

Purdue University Northwest

Westville, IN 46391

(219) 785-5652


Cindy Vanderlaan

Dept. of Math Sciences

Purdue University Fort Wayne

2101 Coliseum Blvd. East

Fort Wayne, IN 46805

(260) 481-5428





Bogdan Vajiac

Department of Mathematics

Saint Mary's College

Notre Dame, IN 46556

(574) 284-4717


Doris J. Mohr
Mathematics Department
University of Southern Indiana
8600 University Blvd.
Evansville, IN 47712
(812) 464-1769



Dr. Clayton Roan

Mathematics Education
Mathematics & Computer Science
University of Indianapolis
1400 East Hanna Avenue
Indianapolis, IN  46227
(217) 232-5718



Barbara Johnson

Dept of Mathematical Sciences

Indiana University-

Purdue-University Indianapolis

402 N Blackford St.

Indianapolis, IN 46202

(317) 274-6918


For more information, please contact:

Leigh Britt

(812) 348-7350


© Indiana Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software